NEW: Lloyd’s Hat Trick Leads U.S. Women to World Cup Win

Monday, July 06, 2015


View Larger +

Hope Solo

The United States Women's Soccer team has won the 2015 FIFA World Cup, defeated Japan 5-2 on Sunday night in Vancouver, Canada. The victory is the U.S. Women's third World Cup title and the first since 1999.

Carli Lloyd was awarded the golden ball for best player in the tournament, scoring three goals in 15 minutes in the final and a total of six goals in a four game stretch in the World Cup. Lloyd is the first player in history to score a hat trick in the World Cup Final.

USA took control of the game very early on when Carli Lloyd found the back of the net off of a set piece to put the U.S. up 1-0 in the third minute of play. Lloyd would score again just two minutes later, sliding the ball into the bottom right corner of the net off another set piece.

The United States would continue their domination and take a 3-0 lead in the 14th minute when Lauren Holliday found the back of the net.

Just one minute later, Lloyd fired a shot from just across mid field and it found it's way into the back of the net after the Japan goalkeeper miss read the shot. The United States would take a 4-1 lead into intermission.

Japan would get a break early in the second half when the U.S. was credited with an own goal. The U.S. lead was cut to 4-2.

However, the United States would regain control quickly as Tobin Heath scored in the 54th minute to give the U.S. their three goal lead back at 5-2.

Japan would generate a coupld of scoring chances down the stretch but U.S. goalkeeper, Hope Solo, and the defense would shut the door and seal the World Cup Title.

Hope Solo was given the golden glove award, allowing only three goals in the entire tournament and only one goal coming into the World Cup Final.


Enjoy this post? Share it with others.


Sign Up for the Daily Eblast

I want to follow on Twitter

I want to Like on Facebook


Stay Connected — Free
Daily Email