Welcome! Login | Register

Subscribe Now: Free Daily EBlast

 
 

RI Ranks as 34 Strictest State Regarding DUI’s

Tuesday, June 16, 2015

 

Rhode Island has been ranked as the 34th strictest state in the country when it comes to driving under the influence, according to a recent study by WalletHub.

When a driver commits a first offense in RI, he or she is subject to vehicle impound, a minimum fine of $100, and subject to additional penalties if the driver’s Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is .1 or higher.

On second offense, the driver is subject to vehicle impound, a minimum $400 fine, and 10 day minimum jail sentence. For it to be considered a second offense, the second arrest must occur within 5 years of the first DUI: this is called the “washout period."

A DUI is not an automatic Felony in Rhode Island until the 3rd offense.

Rhode Island does not have an Administrative License Suspension (ALS). An ALS requires that the driver’s license be confiscated immediately after the driver’s refusal to take a breathalyzer or a reading of .08 or higher on a breathalyzer.

WalletHub ranks Arizona as the strictest state and South Dakota as the most leninent state when it comes to DUI's.

The Study

WalletHub studied 15 key metrics to evaluate which states are strictest and which are the most lenient for DUI offenses.

The metrics included jail time for a first offense, a second offense and when a DUI is considered a felony.  Other metrics include fines for first and second offenses and additional penalties.

 

Related Articles

 

Enjoy this post? Share it with others.

 

X

Stay Connected — Free
Daily Email
 
:!