RI Authors Release “Shoreline” Anthology Featuring Works of 19 RI Writers

Sunday, July 24, 2016

 

View Larger +

Rhode Island Authors have released an anthology titled "Shoreline: Selected Short Fiction, Non-Fiction, Poetry & Prose from the Association of Rhode Island Authors." The anthology features the work of 19 different Rhode Island writers. 

In the collection, writers familiar with mysteries and vagaries of the boundaries between land and sea explore the physical and psychological exporience of living on a margin, the dividing line between the alluring and the forbidden and between life and death. 

Writers that are participating include Peter Mandel, Tina Egnoski, Guy J. Natelli, Nancy Roy, Kelly Kittel, Kathy Clark, Jessica M. Collette, Michael Hartigan, Susan Shepard, K. Eric Crook, Dennis J. Kafalas, Debbie Kaiman Tillinghast, Norman Desmarais, Steven R. Porter, Barbara Ann Whitman, Ana Arelys Cruz Cabrera, Alex Kimmell, Tom Trabulsi and Yvette Nachmias-Baeu. The volume was edited by Deborah L. Halliday.

The book is available in print and e-book form through major online book retailers, and will be available at all ARIA sponsored events as well as select bookstores and gift shops. 

All proceeds from the sale will be sued to support activities of ARIA, including the 4th annual Rhode Island Author Expo which is set for December 3. 

For more information, click here. 

 

Related Slideshow: Top Shelf Tuesday - July 19, 2016

View Larger +
Prev Next

Falling

Jane Green

The New York Times bestselling author of The Beach House, Jemima J, and Summer Secrets presents a novel about the pleasure and meaning of finding a home—and family—where you least expect them...

When Emma Montague left the strict confines of upper-crust British life for New York, she felt sure it would make her happy. Away from her parents and expectations, she felt liberated, throwing herself into Manhattan life replete with a high-paying job, a gorgeous apartment, and a string of successful boyfriends. But the cutthroat world of finance and relentless pursuit of more began to take its toll. This wasn’t the life she wanted either.

View Larger +
Prev Next

Losing It

 Emma Rathbone

A hilarious novel that Maggie Shipstead calls "charming... witty and insightful," about a woman who still has her virginity at the age of twenty-six, and the summer she's determined to lose it—and find herself.

Julia Greenfield has a problem: she's twenty-six years old and she's still a virgin. Sex ought to be easy. People have it all the time! But, without meaning to, she made it through college and into adulthood with her virginity intact. Something's got to change. 

To re-route herself from her stalled life, Julia travels to spend the summer with her mysterious aunt Vivienne in North Carolina. It's not long, however, before she unearths a confounding secret—her 58-year-old aunt is a virgin too. In the unrelenting heat of the southern summer, Julia becomes fixated on puzzling out what could have lead to Viv's appalling condition, all while trying to avoid the same fate.

View Larger +
Prev Next

The Hopefuls

 Jennifer Close

A brilliantly funny novel about ambition and marriage from the best-selling author of Girls in White Dresses, The Hopefuls tells the story of a young wife who follows her husband and his political dreams to Washington, DC, a city of idealism, gossip, and complicated friendships among the young aspiring elite. 

When Beth arrives in DC, she hates everything about it: the confusing traffic circles, the ubiquitous Ann Taylor suits, the humidity that descends each summer. At dinner parties, guests compare their security clearance levels. They leave their BlackBerrys on the table. They speak in acronyms. And once they realize Beth doesn't work in politics, they smile blandly and turn away. Soon Beth and her husband, Matt, meet a charismatic White House staffer named Jimmy, and his wife, Ashleigh, and the four become inseparable, coordinating brunches, birthdays, and long weekends away. But as Jimmy’s star rises higher and higher, the couples’ friendship—and Beth’s relationship with Matt—is threatened by jealousy, competition, and rumors. A glorious send-up of young DC and a blazingly honest portrait of a marriage, this is the finest work yet by one of our most beloved writers.

View Larger +
Prev Next

This Must Be The Place

 Maggie O’Farrell

An irresistible love story, an unforgettable family. Best-selling author Maggie O’Farrell captures an extraordinary marriage with insight and laugh-out-loud humor in what Richard Russo calls “her breakout book.” Perfect for readers of Where’d You Go, Bernadette.

Meet Daniel Sullivan, a man with a complicated life. A New Yorker living in the wilds of Ireland, he has children he never sees in California, a father he loathes in Brooklyn, and a wife, Claudette, who is a reclusive ex–film star given to pulling a gun on anyone who ventures up their driveway. Claudette was once the most glamorous and infamous woman in cinema before she staged her own disappearance and retreated to blissful seclusion in an Irish farmhouse. 

View Larger +
Prev Next

White Bone

 Ridley Pearson

John Knox and Grace Chu, the incomparable duo of the Risk Agent novels, team up again in the latest international thrill ride from New York Times–bestselling author Ridley Pearson.

When ex–military contractor John Knox receives a text from partner Grace Chu warning that she fears her cover may have been blown while on assignment, he jumps into action. Knox must locate her overseas handlers, convince them of the threat, and then attempt to retrace the well-hidden steps of a woman who had been attempting to determine how one million euros’ worth of AIDS vaccine disappeared, all while eluding angry poachers on a parallel trail.

 
 

Enjoy this post? Share it with others.

 
 

Sign Up for the Daily Eblast

I want to follow on Twitter

I want to Like on Facebook

Delivered Free Every
Day to Your Inbox