NEW: Salve Regina to Award Pell Center Prize to “Still Alice” Author Lisa Genova

Thursday, April 23, 2015


View Larger +

Best-selling Author of Still Alice, Lisa Genova, will be honored at Salve Regina University on June 4 when she receives the third annual Pell Center Prize for Story in the Public Square. 

The Award recognizes a contemporary storyteller whose work has had a impact on the public dialogue. 

"I'm honored and thrilled to be receiving the 2015 Pell Center Prize.Thank you for recognizing storytelling as an accessible way to understand complex and often frightening neurological diseases and disorders," said Genova. 

Genova holds a PH.D. in neuroscience from Harvard University and has written about neurological diseases and their impact on affected individuals and their families. 

Her works include Inside the O’Briens (2015), Love Anthony (2012), Left Neglected (2011), and Still Alice (2009), which has spent 56 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list and been made into a major motion picture.

Previous winners of the Pell Center Prize include Danny Strong, an Emmy-winning screenwriter, producer and actor, and Dana Priest, a two time Pulitzer Prize-winning former Washington post writer.

“Lisa Genova is a talented storyteller whose work prompts us to consider the personal experience of living with disease,” said Jim Ludes, executive  director of the Pell Center. 


Enjoy this post? Share it with others.


Sign Up for the Daily Eblast

I want to follow on Twitter

I want to Like on Facebook


Stay Connected — Free
Daily Email