Welcome! Login | Register

Subscribe Now: Free Daily EBlast


GoLocalProv’s Nagle Wins NAACP Award for Diversity Coverage - 3rd Major Award in 2014

Monday, October 13, 2014


Kate Nagle, News Reporter and Editor

The NAACP Providence Branch is awarding GoLocalProv’s News Reporter and Editor Kate Nagle the Ida B. Wells Award for her contributions in coverage of important stories facing Rhode Island’s minority community. The award will be presented at the 101st Annual Dinner of the NAACP on Friday, October 24.

Previously this year, GoLocalProv won:

The Metcalf Award for Diversity in the Media has been given yearly to honor outstanding journalism -- and was awarded in 2014 to GoLocalProv.com for its coverage of the Davey Lopes swimming pool closure and the lack of recreational opportunities provided to Providence children.

The Fund for Community Progress honored community leader GoLocalProv in April. The digital media company was recognized for creating vital local news information that is free to the public. “Access to local news that is responsibly researched and investigated is critical to a democratic and participatory society,” said Sally Turner, Executive Director for the Fund. “We are especially proud to recognize a home-grown Rhode Island media company.”

In addition to GoLocal’s Nagle, the NAACP will bestow the folioing awards to:

Awards and Recipients include:

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award…Robert DiMuccio, President-Amica Insurance   
Rosa Parks Award…………. Leah Wiliams Metts, Davey Lopes Pool Foundation
Thurgood Marshall Award…Tomas Avila, R.I. Latino Professional Network
George S. Lima Award…..  Joseph Tavares, former Chief of Police, East Providence
Ida B. Wells Award………  Kate Nagle, Political News Contributor, GoLocalProv.com
Medgar Evers Award……  Dwayne Hackney, It’s On Us
Joseph LeCount Award….James Monteiro, The Billy Taylor House   

The Keynote Address at the dinner will be presented by former Red Sox Player and Coach Tommy Harper. The former Red Sox center fielder and Hall of Famer will receive the Roy Wilkins Lifetime Achievement Award

WJAR Channel 10 Reporter Cierra Putnam will emcee the evening's festivities, which will be held at the Providence Marriott, One Orms Street. The reception is at 5:30 p.m. and dinner is at 6:30 p.m.

Jim Vincent, Executive Director of Providence Chapter of the NAACP

Tickets are $100. For additional information contact Jim Vincent.  [email protected] or (401)521-2662/401-261-0174. 



Related Slideshow: 26th Annual Metcalf Awards for Diversity in the Media

Prev Next

Kate Nagle of GoLocalProv.com (left) and Ray Rickman of the Rickman Group (right)

Prev Next

Rachel Levenson, director of the documentary "Outside the Box"

Prev Next

Alisha Pena, writer for the Providence Journal

Prev Next

Karen Lee Ziner, writer for the Providence Journal

Prev Next

Transgender teenager Andy Noel and Providence Journal photographer Kris Craig

Prev Next

Victor Cuenca, publisher of Providence En Espanol

Prev Next

Arelis Pena Brito of Providence En Espanol accepting her award.

Prev Next

Jen McCaffery of Rhode Island Monthly

Prev Next

Jen McCaffery of Rhode Island Monthly (left) and Ondrea Robinson (center)


Related Articles


Enjoy this post? Share it with others.



Stay Connected — Free
Daily Email